Tiare Flower Welcome

Government Imposed Entry Restrictions

New Zealand Government Travel Policy

In response to the global Covid-19 pandemic, the New Zealand Government announced on Thursday 19 March 2020, significant new measures that apply to all international travellers arriving in New Zealand that took affect at 11:59pm on March 19th 2020. 

From this time only New Zealand residents and citizens (and their children and partners) will be permitted to enter New Zealand. This includes the Realm countries, Australian citizens and permanent residents ordinarily resident in New Zealand, airline and marine crew. There will be some exceptions, on a case by case basis, for example for essential health workers, humanitarian reasons,  and others.   Those who are permitted to enter the country will need to comply with a 14 day self isolation requirement.

International Transit passengers:  New Zealand’s borders will be closed to international transit passengers from 0200 hours Thursday 26 March 2020 (NZDT). No passengers will be able to transit international flights in New Zealand after this time

Domestic Transit passengers:  Passengers who arrived on international flights after 0200 hours Thursday 26 March 2020 (NZDT) will not be able to connect to a domestic flight during this 14 day period.  New Zealanders needing to take onward domestic flights will be required to provide a self-isolation plan for their arrival port, such as Auckland, or the government will provide temporary accommodation for the 14-days

You can keep yourself informed by visiting the New Zealand Ministry of Health website for full and up to date information.



French Polynesia Entry Requirements

19 March 2020 update:  The French Polynesian Government announced 18 March 2020 (French Polynesia time zone) that non-residents will not be permitted to enter French Polynesia on/before 31 March 2020.  Please note, this policy does not currently apply to transit passengers.

17 March 2020 update:  The French Polynesian Government announced 16 March 2020 (French Polynesia time zone) that all residents entering French Polynesia on/before 31 March 2020 must self-isolate for 14 days at home for residents, or in a collective facility provided by the Government.  The self-isolation can only take place on the island of Tahiti or Moorea.  Travel to the islands will only be allowed after the strict 14-day quarantine period. This policy applies to everyone.  This restriction will be reviewed regularly and can be extended at any time.

Should any symptoms arise during the self-isolation quarantine period, the local health authorities or Centre 15 should be informed immediately.  Dial the number 444 789 while in French Polynesia for any information on the COVID-19 virus.

On-board flights, all passengers will be given a health control survey to be completed.  This survey will be presented to medical personnel upon arrival in French Polynesia.  Passengers will also be monitored by a thermal scanner, designed to detect abnormally high body temperature, at Tahiti's Faa'a International Airport.

All residents travelling to French Polynesia must download and complete the Self-isolation certificate below and provide it to the authorities upon arrival.

Documents to download and complete:

Australian Government Travel Policy

The Australian Government announced on Thursday 19 March 2020, that from 9:00pm AEDT 20 March 2020 that only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia.  All eligible people entering Australia will be required to self-isolate for 14 days, either at home or in a hotel.  

To keep informed on Australia’s entry requirements please visit the Department of Home Affairs website.

US Government Travel Policy

Any passenger who is NOT an American citizen holding an American passport OR legal permanent resident of the United States will be DENIED entry if they have visited or transited Mainland China, Iran or selected European countries.  In addition, American citizens, legal permanent residents, and their immediate families who are returning home to the U.S. to travel through one of 13 airports upon arrival to the U.S., will be submitted to an enhanced entry screening and self-quarantine for 14 days once they reach their final destination.  Please keep yourself informed by visiting the Department of Homeland Security website prior to travel.

French Government Travel Policy

On 16 March 2020, the Government of France announced measures to minimise contact and travel. A containment system will be put into effect throughout France starting Tuesday, March 17 at 12:00 p.m., for a minimum of fifteen days. If necessary, travel is permitted in the following cases: 

  • Between home and work when telework is not possible;
  • To make essential purchases in authorized local shops;
  • For health reasons;
  • To care for children or help vulnerable people;
  • Brief movements near or around my residence for individual exercise or pet care.


As of 17 March 2020, the Government of France announced that European Union external borders will close for 30 days.  For more information please visit Embassy of France or review the Advice by Country