Tiare Flower Welcome

Government Imposed Entry Restrictions

Mandatory health measures and entry requirements for French Polynesia


The current regulations for entry to French Polynesia require that each traveller:

  • Proof of a negative Covid-19 test (SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR virus genome only) carried out within three days prior to their international air departure. The results of this test must be negative and the medical document confirming this, issued by a Doctor, Hospital or Medical Clinic must be presented to airline staff upon check-in prior to boarding the flight to French Polynesia for all passengers aged 6 years and over. To ease the check-in procedures, we encourage you to upload your test results in advance via our online COVID-19 form
  • A traceability form distributed during the flight must be completed. We recommend that you retain a printed copy with your travel documents.
  • Complete a Sanitary Entry Form via the Electronic Travel Information System (ETIS).  A printed copy of the approval must be shown to the airline at check-in.  This is a statement of commitment to follow sanitary measures and reporting to the authorities of any symptom of COVID-19 that may occur during your stay (cough, fever, difficulty to breathe, loss of taste, loss of smell).  More information can be found on the Tahiti Tourisme website
  • Travel insurance for anyone who does not possess French nationality.  If the insurance does not cover costs in the event of a pandemic, including any event associated with COVID-19 infection, you must agree to cover any health costs incurred in French Polynesia.
  • In addition to the above, a temperature check will be taken at check-in for the flight to ensure the passenger temperature is below 38°C


If you fail to comply with any of the above mandatory health measures, you will not be allowed to board the aircraft.


Important COVID-19 testing in French Polynesia

  • Random controls will be carried out upon arrival in French Polynesia by Health Department staff to check that the test taken is acceptable.
  • In addition to the test required prior to departure, a self-administered test provided by the French Polynesian authorities, must be carried out on the fourth day after arrival in French Polynesia.  An envelope containing the test equipment will be given to each traveller aged over six (6) years of age upon arrival at Faa'a International Airport.  The test consists of an oral and nasal swab, to be self-administered on the date shown on the envelope containing the self-test kit.  Instructions and an information note are also provided.  A short video detailing the process can be viewed here.

New Zealand Government Travel Policy

09 April 2020:  Every traveller arriving into New Zealand on a flight which departs from another country after 23:59 on 9 April must go into one of two registered facilities for a minimum of 14 days.   For more information view the current Government regulated border controls.


19 March 2020:  In response to the global Covid-19 pandemic, the New Zealand Government announced on Thursday 19 March 2020, significant new measures that apply to all international travellers arriving in New Zealand that took affect at 11:59pm on March 19th  2020. 

From this time only New Zealand residents and citizens (and their children and partners) will be permitted to enter New Zealand. This includes the Realm countries, Australian citizens and permanent residents ordinarily resident in New Zealand, airline and marine crew. There will be some exceptions, on a case by case basis, for example for essential health workers, humanitarian reasons,  and others.   Those who are permitted to enter the country will need to comply with a 14 day self isolation requirement.

International Transit passengers:  New Zealand’s borders will be closed to international transit passengers from 0200 hours Thursday 26 March 2020 (NZDT). No passengers will be able to transit international flights in New Zealand after this time

Domestic Transit passengers:  Passengers who arrived on international flights after 0200 hours Thursday 26 March 2020 (NZDT) will not be able to connect to a domestic flight during this 14 day period.  New Zealanders needing to take onward domestic flights will be required to provide a self-isolation plan for their arrival port, such as Auckland, or the government will provide temporary accommodation for the 14-days

You can keep yourself informed by visiting the New Zealand Ministry of Health website or the New Zealand Government COVID-19 website for full and up to date information.



Australian Government Travel Policy

The Australian Government announced on Thursday 19 March 2020, that from 9:00pm AEDT 20 March 2020 that only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia.  All eligible people entering Australia will be required to self-isolate for 14 days, either at home or in a hotel.  

To keep informed on Australia’s entry requirements please visit the Department of Home Affairs website.

US Government Travel Policy

If you are a resident of French Polynesia and have not visited any of the countries listed below* within 14 days prior to entering the United States, there are no special requirements for entering the United States, except for the ESTA requirements.
Customers who have visited or transited through one of the countries listed below* within 14 days prior to entering the United States will not be allowed to enter the United States.


*List of countries: Austria, Belgium, Brazil, China (People's Rep.), Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Ireland (Rep.), Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom (excluding overseas territories outside Europe).

French Government Travel Policy

On 16 March 2020, the Government of France announced measures to minimise contact and travel. A containment system will be put into effect throughout France starting Tuesday, March 17 at 12:00 p.m., for a minimum of fifteen days. If necessary, travel is permitted in the following cases: 

  • Between home and work when telework is not possible;
  • To make essential purchases in authorized local shops;
  • For health reasons;
  • To care for children or help vulnerable people;
  • Brief movements near or around my residence for individual exercise or pet care.


As of 17 March 2020, the Government of France announced that European Union external borders will close for 30 days.  For more information please visit Embassy of France or review the Advice by Country