COVID-19 Travel Policy for French Polynesia

Mandatory health measures and entry requirements for French Polynesia


The current regulations for entry to French Polynesia require that each traveller:

  • Present at check-in, proof of a negative COVID-19 test (SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR virus genome only) performed within 3 days of your flight departure for all passengers aged 11 years and over.  The results of this test must be negative and supported by a medical document confirming this, issued by a Doctor, Hospital or Medical Clinic.  To facilitate the check-in process the airline encourages passengers to send the airline the results of the medical test via our online COVID-19 form.  Note:  where passengers can show proof that they applied for the RT-PCR test within the designated time frame but have not yet received the results of this test, they may still be permitted to board if they can show proof of a negative Rapid Antigenic Test taken within 48 hours of flight departure.
  • Complete a Sanitary Entry Form via the Electronic Travel Information System (ETIS).  A printed copy of the approval must be shown to the airline at check-in.  This is a statement of commitment to follow sanitary measures and reporting to the authorities of any symptom of COVID-19 that may occur during your stay (cough, fever, difficulty to breathe, loss of taste, loss of smell). More information can be located on the Tahiti Tourisme website
  • Travel insurance for anyone who does not possess French nationality.  If the insurance does not cover costs in the event of a pandemic, including any event associated with COVID-19 infection, you must agree to cover any health costs incurred in French Polynesia.
  • In addition to the above, a temperature check will be taken at check-in for the flight to ensure the passenger temperature is below 38°C


If you fail to comply with any of the above mandatory health measures, you will not be allowed to board the aircraft.


Important COVID-19 testing in French Polynesia

  • Random controls will be carried out upon arrival in French Polynesia by Health Department staff to check that the test taken is acceptable.
  • In addition to the test required prior to departure, a self-administered test provided by the French Polynesian authorities, will need to be carried out on the fourth day after arrival in the destination. An envelope will be given to each traveller aged over eleven (11) years of age upon arrival at Faa'a International airport. This test consists of an oral and nasal swab, to be self-performed at the date indicated on the envelope containing a self-test kit with instructions and an information note.   A video explaining the process can be viewed here.